God Blessed the Broken Road…..

My husband and I were watching DVR episodes of  America’s Got Talent (to be truthful, my husband was watching and I tried to watch but then fell asleep on his shoulder…again).  But at one point I was startled awake just in time to see and hear a contestant from Kentucky sing.  A beautiful love song, sang with a Kentucky twang.  I smiled, right before I went back to sleep.

This morning while praying, I hear these words in my Spirit:  God blessed the broken road that led me straight to you.  Now, one may think,  how could she be hearing a love song during prayer? Jesus might like watching an occasional episode of AGT with us…after all He is always by our side, is He not?  Perhaps this song was a favorite of His, or maybe the good ol’  Kentucky boy was being cheered on by the Holy Trinity.  My ADD mind would begin to craft the scenario playing out.  “God, Jesus and the Holy Spirit sitting in front of the big screen,  “Abba, will you turn the volume up a bit? The prayers of the Saints are very strong this hour”.  As He reaches for the bowl of popcorn that Orville Redenbacher just popped for them, the Holy Spirit adds, “He is a good singer– what talent we gave him.”  But I digress.

Back to the post.  The lyrics, though written as a love song for a couple, fits as a love song to my Jesus.  Look up the lyrics if you get a chance.  It is no wonder why He brought this to my mind.  Disciples will walk alongside other disciples who will relate to this.  Many of His children, those who have professed Jesus Christ as their Savior,  walk on a narrow road in the beginning.  They found their true love…their first love…in their brokenness.  Life becomes overwhelming and as they walk away from the narrow road they get tired.  Pushing and pushing to get back on it, they get lost somewhere along the road of distraction, difficulty, trauma, selfish gain, procrastination, lust– the list could go on and on.  This detour along the way to our final destination had many signs pointing back to the Lover of our Souls.  I took that detour myself too often.  Not much rest along that stretch of road.  Missing the signs or choosing to look past them.

The lyrics of the wanderer in this song continue to say that he would like to have back the time he lost and give it back to his lover.  I would too.  All those years wasted.  All those years that could have been for the glory of my risen Lord.  But as Paul tells us in Romans 8:28,  And we know that in ALL things God works for the good of those who love Him, who have been called according to His purpose.  Whew….ALL is NOT lost.  ALL is found and will worked together for my good.  Does this mean I could get back on that road of brokenness?  Sure I could, but the road that I started on when I became a Christian over 22 years ago and turned back onto is intact.  My Abba freshly paves the road and fills in those pot holes.  Hope this message comes to mind next time you wait on construction.  If you do at least you will have a new song to sing.

God blessed the broken road that led me straight to Jesus…..

2 thoughts on “God Blessed the Broken Road…..

  1. One of my favorite songs ever! Now after reading your post, I can say that I love it even more. Thank you my friend for sharing this interpretation.

Leave a Reply

