Paths that Twist and Turn….

Happy New Year.  In this brand new year that is upon us, we can look back and see where our lives have taken us.  Reviewing our paths we can see the twists and turns, dead ends and open doors.  Many of these turns–good or bad–are no consequence of our own doing but many may be?  For me I can see where I have let “busyness” steal the time from me.  Time I can never get back on this earth before Christ’s return.  Time that I could have spent with my family more or loved them better.  Time I could have used to read the Bible more.  Time that I could have witnessed to the non- believers or encouraged the children of God.  Times that I could have written for the Lord as He has called me to do. 

Too much of this time was taken up by texting or watching television shows that do nothing but fill our minds with thoughts concerning what we don’t have instead of being thankful, happy and fulfilled with what we do have.  This year I do hope to spend the time that the Lord has given me with hours reading the living Word of God and loving my family better and loving others better and more completely.  Less of me is what I am saying and more of the One who lives within me

The spirit of my Lord has burdened me with a word.  Expose.  This word lends itself to some fearful thoughts.  But if I truly seek then I shall find and will not expose but what He the Holy Spirit wants exposed.  Don’t worry, those of you who are thinking….ooh….this sounds rather scandalous.  Sorry, not that kind of exposing.  What the Spirit of the Lord has me to expose are the lies of the enemy.  These lies produce oppression, depression and steal a person’s true understanding of the gospel of Christ.  Understanding what it means to love those whom others in this society, and even in the Christian churches, know not how to.  I mean groups like the Jehovah’s Witnesses.  What do we do when we see them coming?  Run and hide or put on our self-righteous clothing that is stiff and full of starch.  It is uncomfortable for us to wear this type of stiff and starchy clothing.  It rubs us the wrong way.  Well it doesn’t do anything for the kingdom of God either.  What about when someone of another race gets too close to you in the super market or parking lot?  What about abortionists or those who have had abortions? What about someone who is lesbian or gay?  What about when you hear someone speaking of the current administration?  Ever hear positive things lately coming from the mouths–not only of the media and secular but from Christians too?  I don’t like the path America has turned either.  If it is against the Holy Word it is against Christ.  No matter how it is spun.  BUT, speaking slanderous words about anyone is wrong, really.  Even the Archangel Michael when arguing with Satan over the body of Moses wouldn’t slander him…”The Lord rebuke you”, he said (Jude 9).  And that was Satan!!!  Don’t misunderstand me.  I am not saying we shouldn’t speak out against injustice…..we most certainly should.  It’s the way in which we do this that either promotes Christ’s teaching or not.

We all fail.  We all fall short of God’s glory.  However, we don’t have to.  The word says in 1 John 2:1, “My dear children, I write this letter to you so you will not sin.  But if anyone does sin we have a helper in the presence of the Father—Jesus Christ, the one who does what is right.” (NCV) Instead of continuing to slander, even if the content is true, isn’t it our responsibility as a Christian to take the matter to our Lord and let Him deal with it?  That is what it says.  Then we will have the helper.  Peace is found this way.  Open door……

The next several blog posts will be dedicated to this.  Why?  It’s because we are called to love, not called to bring judgment or to condemn.  This is left up to our Lord and He himself said He hasn’t come to condemn the world to but to save it through Him.  If He said this–and He did–then are we not to replicate this? (John 3:17)  We need a heart transplant, one massive heart transplant.  It all starts with Jesus.  Can we just bring Jesus?  No opinions…just Jesus?  Let us learn from the Bible together.  I will have more to say over the weekend…keep watching.

Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders, let me walk upon the waters where your Spirit may call me.  Take me deeper than my feet could ever wonder where my faith will be made stronger in the presence of my savior. Hillsong UNITED Oceans (Where Feet May Fail)

Leave a Reply

